flag image

Newfound hands out spring sports awards

Joshua Spaulding image
by Joshua Spaulding
write the author

Sports Editor - Salmon Press Newspapers
June 12, 2017
BRISTOL — Though one athlete still had some competing to do to wrap up his high school career, the Newfound sports community put a bow on the spring sports season at the annual spring sports awards on Tuesday, June 6.

The Male Athlete of the Spring was presented to Leo Ntourntourekas, who still had another week go go in his season, competing at the New England Track Championships this past Saturday in shot put. He won two Division III titles on May 27.

The Female Athlete of the Spring went to Becky Norton, another thrower on the Bears track team with a top finish at the Division III State Meet.

The Bears Booster Club presented Student-Athlete Awards to one player on each team.

For the boys' track team, Matt Libby was the winner, while for the girls' track team, Megan Gebhardt received the honor. Charles Gould was the winner for the baseball team and Victoria Roman was the winner for the softball team.

NHIAA Sportsmanship Awards were also presented to one athlete on each team.

For boys' varsity track, Ethan Pruett was the winner while Connor Springer was the winner for JV boys' track. Leslie Shattuck won for the varsity girls' track team and Trinity Taylor was the JV girls' track winner. For the varsity softball team, Katy Drapeau was the winner and Lauren Boisvert was the winner on the JV softball team. Logan Rouille was the varsity baseball winner and Mike Ruiter was chosen as the winner for the JV baseball team.

Team awards were also presented.

For the baseball team, Devon Kraemer-Roberts was named Offensive Player of the Year, and Nate Desrochers won the Coaches Award and the Pabst Award.

For softball, Amanda Johnston was named Offensive Player of the Year, Kylee MacDonald was named Defensive Player of the Year and Bethany Basford was presented the Team Spirit Award.

For the boys' track team, Ntourntourekas won the Strong Man Award, Justin Shokal won the Fast Man Award and Reid Wilkins won the Coaches Award.

The Speed Award for the girls' track team went to Amy Combs, while Mackenzie Brunt won the Strength Award and Norton was presented with the Coaches Award.

Unified athlete awards were presented to Alec Dostie and Rebecca Simison.

Athletic Director Pete Cofran presented the Cathy Leaver Athletic Director's Award to the baseball team mothers and to Norton.

Joshua Spaulding can be reached at 569-3126 or sportsgsn@salmonpress.com.

PArkerVillager Internal Page
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com