flag image
Castleberry Fairs

Selectmen fill board vacancies

May 09, 2019
WOLFEBORO — There are a number of ways residents can participate in town government, including service on town Boards, Commissions and Committees. The Board of Selectmen (BOS) approved a number of appointments at its May 1 meeting. Some people volunteered to renew their positions, others moved from service as an alternate to full member status. That said, a variety of opportunities are still in play.

Dick Byrd, John Byers and Susan Fuller are serving on the Energy Committee, but two members are needed to fill three year terms, and one member is desired for a two year term.

Mary DeVries and Steve Durgan were reappointed for terms on the Econonomic Development Committee, leaving four positions open for three year terms. Meetings are the third Tuesday of the month at 8 a.m.

Selectman Dave Senecal stepped up to fill a vacancy on the Carroll County Transportation Advisory Council and offered to reup as an alternate member of the Zoning Board of Adjustment (ZBA) for a three year term but was told that the acceptance of the latter offer is now in the purview of the ZBA, not the BOS, so he will wait to hear from that board. Two three year terms and two three year alternate terms are presently open. Meetings are held on the first Monday of the month in the evening.

The Trustees of the Trust Funds requested that the board appoint Karen Haskell to continue in the post of alternate. One more alternate position remains open. Meetings are the third Tuesday of the month at 1:30 p.m.

Blair Moody was reappointed to the Agricultural Commission, leaving the Commission wanting for just one alternate member for a three year term.

The Conservation Commission, which meets on the second Monday of the month in the evening, is seeking an alternate member for one year. The Milfoil Committee has three terms of three years each open. The Pathways Committee offers options for a pair of three year terms, two terms of one year each, and three terms of two years each.

The Information Systems Advisory Committee has an opening for one three year term. The Fisherville Committee is in need of five members, each to serve for one year, and the Heritage Commission has four three year term openings.

Interested applicants may send a letter or email of interest to the town manager at P.O. Box 629, 
Wolfeboro, NH, 03894 (tmsecretary@wolfeoronh.us) by May 16, no later than 2 p.m., and attend the next BOS meeting, scheduled for May 22, at 6:30 p.m. in the Great Hall. Appointments will be made at that time.

Garnett Hill
Martin Lord Osman
Parker Village
Thanks for visiting SalmonPress.com